Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC)

​Washington State law requires each County to establish a local Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) to assist in the development of programs and policies concerning solid waste handling and disposal. In addition, Counties may not submit a Comprehensive Solid Waste Management Plan without the active assistance and participation of the SWAC.

The Kitsap County SWAC consists of fifteen members representing a balance of interests including representatives of the Board of Commissioners, local jurisdictions, tribes, the U.S. Navy, local business, and the waste management industry. The SWAC elects a Chairman and Vice Chairman at the beginning of each year to govern the committee. The Chair conducts all meetings, acts as a liaison between the SWAC and the Solid Waste Division, sets the agenda and arranges for timely presentations. Division staff support the SWAC by scheduling, advertising, and recording meetings; mailing materials to members; and maintaining necessary records.

The public is welcome to attend the Solid Waste Advisory Committee's regularly scheduled  meetings held the first Wednesday of each month (subject to change), at 4:00 PM at the City of Bremerton Utilities Building, 100 Oyster Bay Avenue, Bremerton.

Current SWAC Members:

​John Poppe, Vice Chair

Central Commissioner District​

​Douglas Chamberlain

​North Commissioner District

​Eric Lenius

​South Commissioner District

​Diane Landry

​City of Bainbridge Island

​Milenka Hawkins-Bates

Wayne Hamilton (Alternate)

​City of Bremerton

​Stephanie Bailey, Chair

​City of Port Orchard

​Shannon Wood

​City of Poulsbo

​Ashley Brown

​Sam Phillips (Alternate)

​Port Gamble/S'Klallam Tribe

​Jaime Lawrence

​Suquamish Tribe

​Les Hastings


​Heather Church

Dave Stanley (Alternate)

​Industry (Bainbridge Disposal)

​Joey Pellecchia

​Industry (Waste Management)

Bill Rich

Laura Kneib

​Commercial Representative

Commercial Representative Alternate

​Erika Anderson


​Jeff West

​Organics Management


 2018 SWAC Meeting Schedule

Wednesday, August 1

*Please note that meeting schedule is subject to change.